Log in

Dear Western Region IPMA-HR Members:

The Western Region IPMA-HR in participation with SCPMA-HR and IEPMA-HR announces its awards recognition for the 2021 Annual Training Conference.

This year, all three Boards will recognize agencies and individuals through an awards program for remarkable achievements and contributions to the public-sector HR profession. The Awards Program includes the Muriel M. Morse Achievement Award, the Outstanding Chapter Award, the Agency Awards for Excellence, the Emerging Leaders Scholarship Awards, and the Lagniappe Award.

The awards presentations during this conference, will be like no other year. We hope to have a diverse representation of honorees so please nominate an individual and/or organization for any of the following awards:

Muriel M. Morse Achievement Award

The Muriel M. Morse Achievement Award is presented to a member of our organization who exemplifies the positive attributes that made Muriel Morse a memorable individual. Among her many leadership positions, Muriel was President of both the Western Region and IPMA-HR. She retired from the City of Los Angeles as the General Manager of the Personnel Department and continued her career as an adjunct professor with the University of Southern California.

Muriel played an important role in the development of excellence in the City’s Personnel Department, but more so in the development of the Personnel Department staff. She was both a model and a mentor, and she relished both roles. She was extremely committed to professional organizations and the value they bring to the workplace. She encouraged her staff to participate and grow within these organizations.

Agency Awards for Excellence

The Agency Awards for Excellence are designed to recognize the overall quality, accomplishments, and contributions of an agency human resources program or team that exceeds the normal operation of good government human resources. The awards will be based on program initiatives, accomplishments, and contributions that have been innovative, cross-functional, interagency, and in service of our organizations and communities.

Outstanding Chapter Award

The Outstanding Chapter Award was developed to recognize and honor a chapter in the following areas of evaluation: 1) Innovation and diversity in chapter programs; 2) Resourcefulness in publicity and marketing; 3) Effectiveness in operations; 4) Support for community activities; and 5) Any other information that illustrates the uniqueness or special features of the chapter’s operation or membership.

Emerging Leaders Scholarship Awards

Established in 2017, the purpose of the award is to support the development of emerging HR professionals in the public sector. Scholarships range from $250 - $1,000, depending upon the number of recipients, and are intended to enable members to increase their professional growth and development by participating in programs such as IPMA-HR meetings, conferences, seminars, and workshops.

Lagniappe (Lan’yap) Award

This award will be given to the individual who consistently goes above beyond for their three C’s: Colleagues, Customers, and Community.

The Western Region Board is currently accepting nominations for these awards and is requesting your consideration of individuals that have demonstrated the outstanding qualities that make IPMA-HR a great organization. The awards will be presented during the Western Region IPMA-HR Conference, May 3 – 6, 2020. The agency intends to highlight recipients in a new and magical way at the Anaheim, CA convention this year.

To nominate an individual or organization for one of the recognition awards, please submit a one-page typed narrative which includes the name of the award, the name of the nominee, and an explanation of the nominee’s achievement(s). Please email your submission to: Mel Gregg (Mel.Gregg@ci.woodburn.or.us) and place the title of the award in the subject line. Nominations for any of the recognition awards must be received by March 7, 2021 at 11:59 p.m.

Additional information, may also be found on the Western Region webpage (https://wripma-hr.org/Awards). Feel free to forward this information to all your colleagues. Again the deadline for nominations is Sunday, March 7, 2021. For further information or if you have any questions regarding the awards, please contact:

Mel Gregg via email or phone (503) 982-5231


Christine Hoffmann, President of the WRIPMA-HR

choffman@thprd.org or (971) 713-4126

Brian Haggerty,  Past President of the WRIPMA-HR

BHaggerty@mwrd.dst.co.us or (303) 286-3425

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software